As you progress through your journey on Riipen, you may notice that conversations you are a part of become "locked". This article explains what a locked conversation is, and how and why a conversation becomes locked.
General
A locked conversation is read-only for all participants. This means messaging within the conversation is disabled.
Why is my conversation locked?
Locked conversations occur in one of two ways: natural locks and Riipen administator-created locks.
Natural locks
Some conversations naturally transition to the locked state after a certain period of time, and/or specific milestones have been met. This helps keep the workflow of projects moving on Riipen, and reduces the need to follow multiple conversation threads.
Conversation Type | Natural Lock Trigger |
Any conversation where the status is declined, expired, or cancelled | 7 days after the application or match request is declined, expires, or cancelled |
Match requests where the status is "Accepted" | 30 days after the related match requests' end date |
Conversations tied to teams in the "Complete Team" state | 30 days after team completion |
Administrator locks
Riipen admins may intervene and lock a conversation if the content of the messages is found to violate our terms of service.
How to
Archive a locked conversation
Once a conversation is locked, you don't have to do anything! The conversation will automatically transition to the Archived status 60 days after locking.
If you would like to archive a locked conversation ahead of this automated action, follow these steps:
Navigate to your inbox by clicking on the chat bubble icon at the top of the screen
Locate the conversation you wish to archive by scrolling through the list or using the search filters
Click on the three dots button at the top of the conversation header, then select "Archive conversation"

Continue the conversation
Most of the time when one conversation type closes, another opens. Here are our suggestions for keeping the conversation going:
Original conversation | User type | Next step |
Application | Learners | Depends on how your project and the associated experience are set up.
If Kickoffs are enabled, your Application conversation will automatically transition to a Kickoff chat.
If Kickoffs are not enabled, you can move to either the associated Match or Team conversation. |
Kickoff, Match, or Team | All types | Congratulations on completing a project! Get your next project started by browsing the marketplace and applying to projects or sending match requests. |
Match request | Employers and Educators | Now that you've matched, keep up to date with your Learners' progress via the associated Match conversation. |
If you believe that a conversation has been locked in error, you can reach out to our support team for assistance by opening the support widget located in the bottom right corner of your screen.
