Roles on experiences

Creating and managing custom roles within an experience

Emily Masching avatar
Written by Emily Masching
Updated over a week ago

Experiences can have custom roles set for educators who join the experience to control which functionality they will have access to. This can be helpful when inviting people such as teaching assistants, tutors, or mentors to an experience to help with its management.

Creating a role

To create a role for an experience:

  1. Navigate to your experience

  2. Click on the "Settings" tab on the experience page

  3. Click on "Roles" below the "Members" group of the available settings

  4. Click on the "New" button

Riipen provides default roles for experiences which cannot be modified. You will always see this in your roles list and all users who join your experience will by default be placed into one of these roles.

Now simply fill in the form providing a role name and the permissions you wish to apply. Available permissions are:

Name

Description

Feedback

The ability to create feedback authored by the experience and respond to feedback received by the experience

Imports

The ability to perform batch imports of data within the experience

Match Requests

The ability to read, create, and update match requests for the experience.

Members

The ability to invite and manage members and Learners of the experience

Notifications

The ability to receive notifications sent to the experience

Roles

The ability to create and update custom roles for the experience

Teams

The ability to create and manage learner teams for the experience

Team Applications

The ability to read, create, and update applications from teams to projects

Now simply click "Submit" to finish creating your role.

Editing a role

To create a role for an experience:

  1. Navigate to your experience

  2. Click on the "Settings" tab on the experience page

  3. Click on "Roles" below the "Members" group of the available settings

  4. Click on the the role you wish to edit

  5. Click on the "Edit" button

Make any modifications you wish to make and then click "Submit" to finish editing your role.

Editing a role with change the associated permissions for any user which is assigned to that role currently.

Deleting a role

In order to delete a role, you must first migrate all users currently assigned to that role to a different role.

To delete a role for an experience:

  1. Navigate to your experience

  2. Click on the "Settings" tab on the experience page

  3. Click on "Roles" below the "Members" group of the available settings

  4. Click on the the role you wish to edit

  5. Click on the "Delete" button

Did this answer your question?