Messaging will be a critical part of your journey. Whether you are a learner completing a project and communicating with the project's employers, or are an educator finding the right project to match with your experience, you'll be sending messages.
Why use Riipen messaging:
You don't have to share your personal email address or information with the other parties
It integrates right into your email account and allows you to simply reply to emails to send new messages
It will keep you up to date as users take specific actions or alert your to action you need to take
Easily integrate your favorite meetings and video conferencing platforms
General
Automatic generation
Conversations will automatically be generated between users when certain actions are taken.
Action | Participants* |
Match request created | Experience members (educators only) and project members |
Team application created | Team members and project members |
Team started project | Team members and project members |
* Participants may vary depending on permission levels of members
Learn more about the different conversation types that experience admins can enable for their experience.
Rich text
When sending a message, you will be able to use standard rich text elements such as links, lists, text decoration and more.
File sharing
When sending a message, you will be able to attach files to send along with your message.
Reply via email
When you receive a new message, you will also receive an email notification about it. You can simply reply to that email and your reply will be sent as a message in the conversation. No need to leave your inbox!
You can also attach files to your reply to have those files be added to the message in the original conversation as well.
Reply by email is used across many different email notifications you will receive, not just messaging.
Activity messages
Conversations can be used as a complete timeline of events based on the context in which they are created. For example, if you are a learner or employer completing a project together, you'll see system messages when milestones are complete, submissions are made and more.
Meetings
Right from one of your conversations, you are able to book meetings with the other participants. These meetings allow you to keep track of participant attendance, can be integrated with your favorite video conferencing tools, and show up in your in-app calendar to keep you organized.
Read more about meetings here.
Chat widget
You can access your conversations via the inbox (chat icon in the top navigation) or the Messages widget found in the bottom right corner of the screen. You can view up to 2 conversations at the same time without having to leave the page you're currently on.
How to
View a conversation
To view any conversation you are participating in:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar or click on the Messages widget in the bottom right corner of the page
Select the conversation from the list presented
Archive a conversation
If you wish to stop receiving notifications regarding a specific conversation, or just wish to hide that conversation in your message center:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar
Select the conversation from the messages list
Click on the 3-dot icon at the top of the conversation
Click "Archive"
Un-archive a conversation
To un-archive a conversation:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar.
Click the filters icon
Check "Show archived" and click "Apply"
Select the archived conversation from the messages list
Click on the un-archive icon at the top of the conversation
Mark a conversation as unread
If you want to be reminded to revisit a conversation later, you can mark it as unread so a notification badge will appear next to it and in the chat bubble icon at the top of the page.
To mark a conversation as unread from the inbox:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar
Select the conversation you want to mark as unread
Click on the 3-dot icon at the top of the conversation
Click "Mark as unread"
To mark a conversation as unread from the messages widget:
Open the messages widget from any page over than the inbox and hover over the conversation you want to mark as unread
Click on the 3-dot icon that appears as you hover over the conversation
Click on "Mark as unread"
If a conversation is already marked as unread, you can follow the same steps to mark a conversation as "read".
Mark conversations as unread/read in bulk
You can mark multiple conversations as read or unread all at once using the bulk mark as read/unread feature.
To mark multiple conversations as read/unread from the inbox:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar
Click on the 3-dots icon at the top of the messages panel
Check the box next to each conversation you'd like to mark
Click the "Mark as read/unread" button once you have selected all the conversations you want to update
Note: if you select conversations that are in different states, the action will default to "mark as read".
To mark multiple conversations as read/unread from the messages widget:
Open the messages widget from any page other than the inbox
Click on the 3-dots icon
Select "Manage conversations"
Check the box next to each conversation you want to update
Click the "Mark as read/unread" button once you have selected all the conversation you want to update
Note: if you select conversations that are in different states, the action will default to "mark as read".
Leave a conversation
If for whatever reason you need to permanently leave a conversation, you can follow these steps:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar.
Select the conversation from the messages list
Click on the 3-dot icon at the top of the conversation
Click "Leave"
This is irreversible. Once you leave a conversation, unless you had read access to the conversation originally, you will not be able to rejoin it.
Set an away message
You can set an auto-response for incoming messages directly from your inbox — useful for when you're out of office or temporarily stepping away from a project. To set an away message:
Click on the message icon in the navigation bar
Click the ellipsis menu (⋯) next to your Messages header
Choose a message and set optional start and stop times
Click Save
To update or remove your away message, return to the same ellipsis menu at any time.
Note: Context-specific auto-responses — such as application replies and match request responses — will take priority over your away message when applicable.
FAQs
Is messaging secure?
Yes. All message occurs over encrypted web traffic and your personal details are never shared with the receiving participants.
If I reply via email what happens to my email signature?
We will automatically strip out your email signature from the message.
In some cases an email signature might make it through and we may need to make an update to catch more variations on signatures. Submit a post to feedback.riipen.com if you notice this.
If I reply via email what happens with attachments?
Attachments to your email will be included as attachments in the message.
Why aren't my email replies working?
To reply via email, you need to be using the exact same email address your reply is being sent from as the email address associated with your Riipen account. If you have an email alias, or are using multiple email addresses funnelled into a single inbox, reply via email may not work for you.


