Privacy for experiences

Configure the privacy settings of an experience

Updated over a week ago

The privacy settings of any experience affect who can view and interact with it at any time. This can range from completely public, to completely private, with many options in between.

General

Experience privacy levels

An experience has 4 possible privacy levels:

Setting your experience to anything other than the lowest privacy level will affects its overall visibility in marketplaces, your portal profile, your user profile and more.

  • Public. This is the default privacy level for most experiences. Anyone, whether or not they have an account, can view the experience. This level also makes the experience visible to non users such as search engines, social media platforms, and more. This is the best way to get your experience noticed.

  • No Index. Anyone, whether or not they have an account can view the experience, however, we will block non users such as search engines, social media platforms, and more, from seeing your content. This is to ensure humans can see your experience, but robots cannot and ensures that your experience will not show up in search results such as Google or Bing.

Note, search engines such as Google and Bing will still be able to see your experience, however, we insert code to ask them nicely not to display your experience in any public facing search results. It is up to the discretion of those search engines to comply with our ask.

  • Hidden. This level adds one additional level of privacy to your experience, in that it is hidden from non users. People will need to have an account in order to see your experience. This is a good privacy level if you want to make sure search engines such as Google or Bing or other possible web scrapers cannot see your content whatsoever.

  • Private. This is the highest level of privacy possible. Only users you allow to see your experience will be able to do so. These users are entirely dependent on further actions you take and are listed for clarity in the table below

Action

Visible to

No action

Members of the experience's portal

List experience in open marketplace

Everyone

List experience in private marketplace

Members companies with portal passes for your portal

Submit a match request

Administrators of the project and company

Successfully match

Administrators of the project and company

While you have the option to make experiences hidden or private, be aware that in doing so you limit the visibility of learner's work and outcomes on their profiles. Learners often use profiles to showcase experiences they've completed and work done, and by limiting the access to your experience, a learner's profile looses the credibility of being able to fully showcase their work.

How to

Update privacy settings

To update experience privacy settings:

  1. Navigate to the experience

  2. Click the "Settings" tab

  3. Click the "Privacy" tab in the "Advanced" group

  4. Update the settings as necessary

  5. Click "Submit"

Did this answer your question?