Privacy for portals

Configure the privacy settings of a portal

Chris Becher avatar
Written by Chris Becher
Updated over a week ago

The privacy settings for a portal affect who can view it and its content at any time. This can range from completely public, to semi private, with many options in between.

Privacy levels

A portal has 3 possible privacy levels:

  • Public. This is the default privacy level for portals. Anyone, whether or not they have an account, can view the portal. This level also makes the portal visible to non users such as search engines, social media platforms, and more. This is the best way to make your portal visible to others.

  • No Index. Anyone, whether or not they have an account, can view the portal, however, we will block non users such as search engines, social media platforms, and more, from seeing it. This is to ensure humans can see your portal, but robots cannot and ensures that your portal will not show up in search results such as Google or Bing.

Note, search engines such as Google and Bing will still be able to see your portal, however, we insert code to ask them nicely not to display your portal in any public facing search results. It is up to the discretion of those search engines to comply with our ask.

  • Hidden. This level adds one additional level of privacy to your portal, in that it is hidden from non users. People will need to have an account in order to see your portal. This is a good privacy level if you want to make sure search engines such as Google or Bing or other possible web scrapers cannot see your content whatsoever.

While you have the option to make your portal hidden, be aware that in doing so you limit the visibility of learner's work and outcomes on their profiles. Learners often use profiles to showcase projects they've completed and and from which portals, and by limiting the access to your portal, a learner's profile looses the credibility of being able to fully showcase their work.

Updating privacy settings

To update portal privacy settings:

  1. Click the "Settings" tab in the main navigation under "Portal"

  2. Click the "Privacy" tab in the "General" group

  3. Update the settings as necessary

  4. Click "Submit"

Default company privacy level

Portals can set a portal wide company privacy level for any company created for that within the portal. For more information about the available privacy levels for companies, checkout the Privacy for companies article.

Default company project privacy level

Portals can set a company wide project privacy level for any project created for that company which was created within the portal. For more information about the available privacy levels for projects, checkout the Privacy for projects article.

Default experience privacy level

Portals can set a portal wide privacy level for any experience created for that portal. For more information about the available privacy levels for experiences, checkout the Privacy for experiences article.

Default user privacy level

Portals can set a portal wide privacy level for any user created within the portal. For more information about the available privacy levels for experiences, checkout the Privacy for users article.

Did this answer your question?